Muse & Method
Muse & Method
Episode 2: Working with a Guide Word
0:00
-46:14

Episode 2: Working with a Guide Word

Discover your Guide Word, align your practices & bring your intentions to life

In this episode, I share the why, how, and what of working with a Guide Word for the year, as well as what I learned from my 2022 word, and how I chose my 2023 word.


Each year I allow a Guide Word to emerge.

Tangible. Blossom. Focus. Clarity. Awakening. Refine.

The reasons for working with a Guide Word include:

  • Creating an intentional “container” for the year

  • Having a thematic lens through which you see yourself & the world

  • Charting a north star you can continuously align yourself with

  • Dropping an anchor that can keep you grounded

Why work with a Guide Word?

  • Instead of pursuing a destination or specific outcome, a Guide Word allows you to cultivate ongoing practices in alignment with an intention for the year

  • A Guide Word is limitless and allows for evolution & expansion beyond whatever you could have planned for yourself

  • Guide Words are internally driven and aligned to what is important and emergent for you, instead of focusing on things you think you SHOULD be, do, or have

How to choose your Guide Word: ALLOW IT TO EMERGE! The wand chooses the wizard!

  • Ask for it to be revealed to you before you fall asleep

  • Ask for guidance before a meditation

  • Pull a tarot or oracle card & receive messages

  • Pay attention to the signs, signals & synchronicities around you

  • Reflect on what you NEED, not what you think you should do, be, or have

  • Look for themes in your journal

  • Do a mindmap and brainstorm ideas to discover emergent themes

Keeping your Guide Word alive:

  • Share & declare: cast a spell by sharing your Guide Word far and wide

  • Keep it visible: post-it on your mirror, wear it on a shirt or jewelry, hang it from your car mirror, create a vision board (see mine below), make it your phone or computer wallpaper

  • Create reminders: block it in your calendar, set phone reminders/notifications, write it in your journal every day, turn it into a mantra you repeat daily

Creating Habits with Your Guide Word:

  1. Define your word: look up the dictionary definition and also add your own meaning; get clear on what it means to YOU

  2. Imagine what it looks like: referring back to your definition, write down what it feels like for you to work with your Guide Word across different aspects of your life; articulate feelings, desired states, and imagery

  3. Discern behaviors: Distill your meaning and vision into small, repeatable behaviors; start small and integrate these behaviors into your practices – this is how you can create new habits that bring your Guide Word to life!

My 2022 Guide Word: REFINE

What it means to me: to return to a state of fineness and purity; to strip away everything that no longer serves me; to listen deeply to my body; to clear away the clutter in my life – physically, mentally, emotionally & spiritually

Practices I cultivated & what I learned:

  • More consistency around stepping forward as a spiritual leader: I hosted women’s circles, collaborated with others, hosted 40+ Strange Magic journeys, shared my voice more on social media, allowed myself to be seen by others

  • Refinement in my voice, gifts, and purpose: I have a lot more clarity on the impact I’d like to make in this world and how I can best make it through sharing my gifts

  • I made some progress in clearing and cleaning my physical space 😜

  • I tuned into my body a lot more to learn more about what it needs and what it does not need!

  • I no longer feel the need to control everything or prove my value through how much I work or produce

  • I have honed my practice of discernment and can see through a lot more distortion, manipulation, and illusion – my own, from others, from the collective

  • I feel a sense of sovereignty, freedom, and value at a soul level

  • So many of my gifts arrived and I received huge energy and nervous system upgrades

  • I practiced being in my divine feminine A LOT!

My 2023 Guide Word: TRUST

What does it mean? Ease, surrender, flow, devotion, alignment, allowing, flowering.

I plan to bring TRUST to life in three areas this year: Self Trust, Trust & Open to Others, and Trust in the Universe.

Self Trust

  • More inner guidance, less consuming and seeking advice & opinions from others

  • Devotion and commitment to my ideas

  • Inner validation, worth, love, certainty

  • Integrity and wholeness with my values

  • Working according to my rhythms

  • Listening to the quiet messages in my body

  • Seeing my worth as a leader and BEING that leader before people ask me to be it!

  • Courageously and confidently sharing my voice, ideas, and creations

  • Being visible and trusting that I will attract what is meant for me

  • Following my creative instincts and impulses

  • Doing what nourishes me

  • Sitting in the void, death, rebirth cycle when it is needed

Trust & Open to Others

  • Love without abandon or need for reciprocity

  • Generously share feelings & praise with others – pour into others

  • Assume positive intent

  • See the soul behind the human suit

  • Answer non-love with love

  • Remember who I AM in all situations as much as I possibly can

  • Explicitly and lovingly communicate what I need and want

  • No more waiting for people to change – accept others as they are at any given moment

  • Seek physical, energetic, emotional, mental, and spiritual intimacy with others

  • Create space for connection

  • Share my intentions // uncover the true intentions of others

  • Avoid assumptions

  • Be patient, graceful, compassionate, grateful, and empathic

  • Trust that everyone is on their own timeline

  • Allow the tension of wishing people were different to melt and fall away

  • Say I love you more

  • Allow people to be in charge of themselves!

  • Be peaceful inside of conflict

  • Create space for others to learn and explore

  • Share my stories and struggles vulnerable as an act of service

  • Collaborate with easy, flow, joy, and love

  • PLAY without pressure or expectation

  • Be open to adventure and invitations

Trust in the Universe

  • Finding flow in the current of life

  • Allow things to unfold in their time

  • Know that what is coming to me is much more beautiful than I could have imagined or planned

  • Be open to receiving and holding what is coming my way

  • Trust that I am READY to receive everything I could ever want and need

  • Know that I am meant to experience life as a GIFT

  • Co-Create with the rhythms of life that surround me

  • Trust that nature is working to restore balance always

  • Know that I will be taken care of, cherished, held, nurtured, loved, adored, and guided by energies and unravelings that I cannot comprehend at the moment

  • See the signs, signals, and synchronicities

  • Create SPACE for god to come through

  • Take aligned LEAPS

  • Move toward everything in devotion


What about you?

What Guide Word is emerging for you in 2023?

What does it mean to you?

How will you bring it to life?

Leave a comment and let me know!

0 Comments
Muse & Method
Muse & Method
Are you ready to activate your unique genius, unravel the patterns that no longer serve you, and step into self-leadership? Would you like more peace, compassion, love, intimacy, joy, prosperity, and presence in your life? Through inspirational conversations and deep-dive solo episodes, the Muse & Method podcast was created to help you proactively wage peace, starting with yourself!